Eric Baer – 2018 Recipient of Charles Goodyear Medal

Image_of_the_Charles_Goodyear_medalProfessor Eric Baer, Distinguished University Professor, Herbert Henry Dow Professor of Science and Engineering, and Director of the Center for Layered Polymeric Systems (CLiPS) has been announced as the recipient of the 2018 Charles Goodyear Medal by the American Chemical Society, Rubber Division.

The Charles Goodyear Medal is the highest honor conferred by the American Chemical Society, Rubber Division. The award was established in 1941, as a part of its continuing effort to honor scientists and engineers who are recognized as having made an outstanding invention, innovation or development which has resulted in significant change or contribution to the nature of the rubber industry.

Baer was noted by the award committee for his contributions to understanding elastomeric polyolefins and rubber toughening of brittle polymers, and for founding Case Western Reserve University’s Department of Macromolecular Science and Engineering.

Past recipients of the Charles Goodyear Medal include Paul J. Flory, pioneer in the physical chemistry of macromolecules and Nobel Laureate, and Herman F. Mark known as the “father of polymer science.”

The award will be presented at the 193rd ACS Spring Technical Meeting in May, 2018, in Indianapolis, Indiana.